top of page
  • Writer's pictureCobber SALT

Giving Day Ambassadors 2021

Giving day is a special time at Concordia. Giving day is a day to celebrate the generosity of Cobbers and friends who continue to give back to students every year through their gifts to the Cobber Fund which directly impact students through scholarships.



This year, we wanted to showcase a few Cobber SALT members who are grateful for the donations by alumni, family, and friends that allow them to pursue their education at Concordia. All four of these students assist with SALT's programming alongside their studies and other campus involvement.


Greta Almlie '24

Hometown: Moorhead, Minn.

Majors/Minors: Business Management, Communications

Position in SALT: Student Development Committee Member

Campus Involvement: CEC (Campus Events Commission), Hollstadt Women in Leadership Program


What has Concordia done for you?


I started my Concordia journey when I was a toddler as a Cobber Kid. It was the start to my continuation of learning. During that time, my mom worked for the college and I got to spend endless hours in her office (The Park Student Leadership Center) where I got to meet a lot of awesome students and faculty during the 9 years of her employment with Concordia.

Flash forward about 10 years, I am now a student at Concordia.

Last spring I made the decision to transfer to the college from UND for the upcoming fall semester. While everything has been exciting and new, this college has always felt like my second home. Just in this first semester, I have received more opportunities than I ever did while at UND. Not only have I had the opportunity to be involved with 4 clubs/organizations on campus, but I also have created connections with faculty and friends that will last a lifetime.

Concordia has given me the opportunity to have a liberal arts education that focuses on the importance of the continuation of learning. I know I will feel more prepared to go out into the workforce by the time I am a senior because the faculty and staff are always there to support me along the way. There has never been a time where I haven’t felt valued at Concordia, from my time at Cobber Kids until now, and for that I am eternally grateful.


How have you benefitted from Concordia’s donors?


After getting into Concordia, I understood that I would have to find a way to pay for my education. Holly Sager in the admissions office sent me the link in an email about the Presidential Gold Scholarship. I had nothing to lose, so I applied. After a short video and some interviews later, I was in shock after reading my email saying I got the scholarship. There are days where I still can’t believe it, but I knew I couldn’t let those donors down. I feel like I want to make them proud by helping to lead my other peers on campus and getting them involved with what Concordia has to offer. With that, I can’t thank all the donors enough. I am so lucky to receive such a gift that will help me with my continued education and leadership throughout my time at Concordia and beyond.


How has working with Concordia’s alumni enriched your education?


I have gotten the opportunity to be apart of two amazing groups on campus that work with alumni. I am apart of Students and Alumni Linked Together (SALT) as well as the Hollstadt Women in Leadership Program. Both match students with alumni mentors in hopes that the students feel more prepared for their careers after college. It is such an honor to work with these amazing alumni, as they have already taught me so much. I know I wouldn’t get similar opportunities at other colleges. That being said, I feel so lucky to have these mentors in my life. While my journey is just beginning with these mentors, I know I am going to learn a lot about my future career and its challenges. I am excited to further enrich my education with such an amazing group of leaders that I get the privilege to learn from.


Grace Henderson '25

Hometown: Fargo, N.D.

Majors/Minors: Biology (pre-pharmacy), Chemistry

Position in SALT: Alumni Awareness Committee Member

Campus Involvement: Kantorei (choir), CORC (Concordia Outdoor Recreation Club)


What has Concordia done for you?


Concordia is filled with people who want me succeed. Concordia has provided me with numerous beautiful relationships and academic support throughout my collegiate education.


How have you benefited from Concordia donors?


I am currently on a choral scholarship here at Concordia. My scholarship provides me with financial aid to make my years spent at Concordia more financially attainable. My scholarship also provides me with wonderful opportunities to further my music education and grow my passion for choral singing.


Nick McGinley '23

Hometown: Brooklyn Park, Minn.

Majors: Elementary Education

Minors: Interfaith Studies, Communications

Position in SALT: Director of Marketing

Campus Involvement: Interfaith Scholar, Better Together, Education Club, Marketing Intern, SALT


What has Concordia done for you?


Concordia has offered me a place to try out new things and experience opportunities that would not have been possible on a different college path. I have been able to explore both outside and inside my major. My career may fluctuate down the road, but my degree from Concordia will be applicable regardless.


How have you benefited from Concordia donors?


Concordia donors offered me scholarships for academics as a freshman, music scholarships that allow me to continue my involvement in music, and as an interfaith scholar to promote interfaith work on campus and in the community.


How has working with Concordia’s alumni enriched your education?


Working with Concordia's alumni has allowed me to meet so many amazing people, learn more about their stories, and connect with them long after our first meeting. Through the national alumni board connection program, I ended up getting reconnected with someone I had met prior and have fostered a wonderful relationship that has allowed me to explore even more new opportunities.


Gerriana Miller '24

Hometown: Paynesville, Minn.

Majors: Social Work, Psychology

Minors: Sociology

Position in SALT: Student Development Committee Member


What has Concordia done for you?


Concordia has given me a safe, comfortable environment to grow as a person and make some of the most amazing friendships!


How have you benefited from Concordia donors?


I have benefitted greatly from the Concordia donors. Without their donations that go towards my scholarship, I never would have gotten to attend Concordia to pursue my passion of Social Work.


How has working with Concordia’s alumni enriched your education?


Working with alumni has given me a better understanding of how much I can get from college and how I can use the skills learned here in everyday life. I've also learned just how much of an impact the alumni can make on the students here and the guidance and support that they offer. They are some of the sweetest and friendliest people.



Follow our social media channels @cobberSALT to hear more from our giving day ambassadors throughout the day!






Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page