top of page
  • Writer's pictureGunnar Fering '23

Coffee with Cobbers Special Guest: Justin Monroe

Updated: Nov 11, 2021



Name: Justin Monroe Graduation Year: Spring 2021 Major: Business w/ concentration in Marketing Minors: English Writing


Please tell us a bit about yourself:

Hello! I'm Justin Monroe, a 2021 graduate from Concordia College, where I studied Marketing and Writing. Throughout college, I was heavily involved in Concordia's marketing and communications department and SALT. Since graduating, I've been working as a Digital Marketing Strategist at a local advertising agency called AdShark Marketing. Outside of work, I'm a hobbyist photographer, a writer, and I love camping, hiking, or doing anything else to get outdoors.


What do you currently do for work?

I'm a Digital Marketing Strategist at AdShark Marketing, located in Downtown Fargo. My job involves me managing around a dozen clients and I'm responsible for developing a strategy for their digital advertising efforts and helping them achieve their business goals.

As a SALT alumnus, how has your experience with SALT at Concordia helped you in your career journey?

My experience with SALT was one of my most transformative experiences throughout college. Being a member since my first year in school, I got to both witness and influence the change the organization experienced, exposing me to more opportunities for leadership than anything else I did on campus. SALT was a great way for me to grow as a leader, strengthen my knowledge as a marketer, and become a part of the tight-knit alumni network.


What advice do you have for current students about entering the workforce?

I haven't been in the workforce for very long, but I'd advise students to make as many meaningful connections as possible before leaving college. Every single internship and even my current full-time job were discovered due to connections I had with people currently working there. Being in SALT, attending SALT events, and reaching out to alumni you'd like to know are all great ways to make connections in the Concordia community.

39 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page